A closing thought.

July 7, 2009

Thanks to the Boston Globe and a mortifying amount of attention from BC about the article, a closing entry to this blog has become essential.

First of all, I want everyone to know who is coming to this website that these notes and observations were nothing more than passing thoughts that I chose to put down. I did not mean to offend anyone with any of the comments I made and I certainly do not think any of the conclusions I came to are permanent- my mind is as open (if not more so) than ever. Greece (and all of the other places I was lucky enough to travel to) will always have a special place in my memory and the second I have the chance to go back- I will.

Next I think it is important for me to take a little bit of time to thank the people who made my experience possible. To my parents, who have footed the bill for 21 years of my life, not to mention given me this expensive passion of travel in the first place, I love you and I hope that one day I will be able to send you both around the world at MY expense. You have been nothing but supportive of every adventure I’ve ever had and I will never be able to repay you. To the study abroad staff at ACT, most importantly Kate Diedrick and Stepan: you guys made the experience of ALL the students in our program positive. I can’t imagine those four months without all of the trips and activities the two of you organized- so thank you and please just know how much we all appreciated all your hard work. Of course also the OIP staff at BC and my advisor Christina at BC- the transition to Greece was made so easily thanks to your efforts and I always knew if I needed anything you would be easy to get a hold of.

Last but not least of course I need to appreciate all the amazing people I was lucky enough to meet at school, around Thessaloniki, in hostels and bars, on airplanes and in stores: each one of you helped make my time so perfect. Honestly, there isn’t a day that has gone by since I’ve been back in the States that I haven’t wished I was back in Thessaloniki. I hope I am lucky enough to get back sooner rather than later.

“Certainly, travel is more than the seeing of sights; it is a change that goes on, deep and permanent, in the ideas of living.” -Miriam Beard

Leave a Reply

