No words.

April 25, 2009

Every single person that I talked to about going abroad before I left said the same thing, “You’re going to have the most amazing time/It’s going to change your life/It will be the best months of your life.”  Having been priviledged enough to study abroad in Paris for a summer before, along with my experiences traveling with my family when I was in high school- I took all of these comments with a grain of salt.  I knew I loved Europe and experiencing new cultures, but even a few weeks into my program here I couldn’t quite imagine my entire life being changed by this experience.

Alas, I have to eat those words.  Though, to be fair, I didn’t even know a person could be THIS happy.  I didn’t know it was possible to be this excited and at peace at the same time.

That being said, I should talk about my spring break.  And as soon as I finish with this post, I promise I will get to work on updating on the last month or so that is absent from the blog.

I can’t believe it is almost May.  I feel like YESTERDAY was April 1st.  The last day I was in classes at ACT feels like a decade ago (and in a way- it sort of was, it was April 7th!).  Spring break for me started pretty much when Mom arrived on the 5th in Athens.  Christine was still in town for the night so the two of us got to live in the lap of luxury for the night at the Hilton in Athens.  It was literally the best shower I’ve had in three months!  That night after getting lost trying to find an open restaurant on a Sunday (always a bit of a challenge)  we gave up and ended up pigging out at the hotel buffet, which was AMAZING.  The next morning Christine left and Mom and I journeyed on to Delphi in the POURING rain.

Now when I say pouring rain I’m not sure if it adequately gets my point across.  Not only were the sheets of rain soaking through my ever-so-inappropriate $10 flats from target- I had no umbrella. Thankfully mom had the foresight to at least bring a rain jacket, so we ended up sharing it between the two of us as we wandered some of the most famous (not to mention beautiful) ruins in Greece.  The rain ended up making everything even more amazing to look at though I think, when I could forget about my numb feet, you could see how vibrantly green the rain made the surrounding wildlife.

A moment with no rain!

A moment with no rain!

This doesn't really need a caption, haha.

This doesn't really need a caption, haha.

The ruins of the altar at Delphi

The ruins of the altar at Delphi

After surviving the HORRENDOUS night train back to Thessaloniki, I went to my one an only day of classes in the last three weeks and Mom wandered along the boardwalk (she even navigated the bus system on her own!) .  The rest of the week we filled with two trips to one of the Halkidiki beaches, a visit to the Museum of Byzantine Culture (which was AWESOME) and best of all a trip to the top of the White Tower (which had an awesome museum about the history of Thessaloniki in it) to take advantage of the extremely nice weather.  Our trip to Kalikratika (the beach town) was probably the most notable, we were the only people in the entire town that wasn’t donning a leather or fur coat (in 65/70 degree SUNNY weather? …your guess is as good as mine).  We ended up going to a really fantastic taverna though and picking our own fresh fish out for the meal.  It was the perfect week to start my break and I still feel lucky every day that I have such fantastic parents that have given all off these amazing opportunities.  I only wish Emily and Dad could have been there also!

My cityyyyy.

My cityyyyy.

At the top of the White Tower with Mom.  East side of the city in the background (my side!)

At the top of the White Tower with Mom. East side of the city in the background (my side!)

YUM

YUM

Sunset at the harbor

Sunset at the harbor

Leave a Reply

